Pai is a small hamlet of Torri del Benaco. The old name “Palli”, perhaps deriving from the discovery of some pile dwellings in the area, has changed over time into "Pai", as proved by a document dating back to 1372.
The petroglyphs that are situated between Torri del Benaco and Pai, near the town of Crér, some natural slates modelled in the Ice Age, are particularly interesting, while the Roccia delle Griselle shows some carvings of weapons and stylised human figures.
The old town is perched on the side of Mount Baldo and still bears the remains of the fortifications that Barbarossa ordered to demolish. The church of San Marco, dating back to the seventh century, was the old chapel of the castle, renovated in the seventeenth century to become the parish church. It houses a wonderful wooden statue of the Madonna and Child of the fifteenth century, picturesque frescoes dating back to 1300 and 1400 and a baptistery dating back to 1522.
Then there is the church of San Gregorio, which, according to history, had to be the parish church until the Countess, now old, "chose" the church of San Marco because it was closer to her residence.
The Grotta La Tanella, rich in stalactites and stalagmites, is also worth a visit.