MARKET DAY: Wednesday
PORT: Porto Vecchio – Piazza A. Partenio
PHARMACY: Benati - Via A. Della Scala, 56
HOSPITAL: Ospedale Orlandi di Bussolengo - Via Ospedale, 4/6
Lazise is a well-established tourist resort, its historic centre can boast of its past hidden in its intimate medieval alleyways and its large castle, good food and long cycle paths.
The name Lazise derives from 'lacus' or lake village and from this we can deduce how important the lake was for this area.
The discovery of pile dwellings identifies the first settlements in the Bronze Age. For the Romans, however, it represented an important communication route to Germany.
In 938, the community asked the Holy Roman Empire for the possibility of self-defence and thus became the first free commune in Italy, some duties were removed and duties given on the condition that the nearby prairie could be used as a resting place for the imperial army.
The Scaligeri from 1300 built the castle and fortified it to protect the community that remained loyal to Verona, but until 1378 when the walls were not enough and they had to surrender to the Visconti and then in 1405 to the Republic of Venice. Subsequent revolutions brought Lazise under French and then Austrian control, becoming part of the Kingdom of Italy in 1866.
The municipality is remembered for its ancient port and the old Venetian Customs House, where goods used to stop in the town, and for the historical centre dotted with small streets and squares.